The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-15-2024, 07:31 AM
Charter Member

Default Think I need a saddle adjustment

Hi everyone, so I’m new to measuring setup specs on my guitars even though I’ve been playing forever, and had a thread last month about the high action on my Breedlove. Measuring things, my Stew Mac style gauge indicates treble action at the 12th fret of .110” (around 7/64) and bass at .120” (almost 8/64). I’m exclusively a finger style guy on acoustics, and I don’t really dig in much, so this feels really high. I don’t recall how long the action has been this high, as l wasn’t playing this guitar often. Capoing the first fret and holding down at the 14th, I’m getting about .008” relief at the 7th fret, so maybe slightly high, but not too bad it seems. String height at the nut seems fine, and there’s a lot of saddle left - never been lowered since I bought the guitar new.

So, a visit to my tech for a setup?
Old 05-15-2024, 07:57 AM
Charter Member

Everyone's different, but I consider that high. I set mine to 5/64" (0.078", 2 mm) on the bass E and 4/64" (0.062", 1.6mm) on the treble. You could take it to the tech and ask for a new saddle, rather than adjusting the current one, so it could be swapped out if you wanted it higher again.

Or if you like to work on stuff it's not hard to do yourself. Lots of info at frets.com, Bryan Kimsey's website and elsewhere.
Old 05-15-2024, 08:12 AM
Charter Member