The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-14-2024, 06:35 PM

Default Newbie here, needing advice.

Hi everyone!
I'm new to guitar playing and am in need of a guitar. The one I had was an old Stella Harmony which smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke and Ozium. Having taken "Ol' Stinky" back to my brother's house, I find myself needing to buy a new guitar. I'm also a 67-year old tuba player, so for me paying for a premium type guitar really isn't an option unless I get really good really fast (yeah, like that's gonna happen). I don't need to spend over $1000 for a guitar when I have already spent many more times that amount on 6 tubas, I've got to keep the home-front happy if you know what I mean. What I'm looking for is a guitar that I can spend no more than $350 on that will be a good instrument for me to learn on, wear well and hopefully retain a certain degree of it's value. I am well aware that this forum has many skilled luthiers, any decent forum would. And the last thing I want to do is start a nasty discussion on why Brand X guitars are way better than Brand Z guitars. I'm just a green as grass newbie looking for a little insight. How about it guys and gals? Thanks in advance!
Old 05-14-2024, 06:38 PM
Curiouser and curiouser

I think, perhaps, something in the parlor size might be good. Maybe a 00 style? That should leave enough room for the tuba, should you be so inclined...

Attached Images
File Type: jpg TubaGuitar.jpg (47.4 KB, 319 views)
Old 05-14-2024, 06:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlepporello View Post
Hi everyone!