The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-25-2014, 06:19 PM

Default New pics - 1998 Taylor K14c (10 years ago and now)

About ten years ago, I joined AGF and very quickly acquired a 1998 Taylor K14c from a fellow AGFer. I took some pics at the time and shared them on AGF. You'll see them again well below.

Here are NEW photos, taken ten years later. The guitar is still mostly clean except it has a few tiny dings in the finish on the top, and the tuners are starting to get a little spotty. Anyone know how I can get rid of the spottiness?

I obviously have a better camera now but it doesn't mean I'm a better photographer. I have the same guitar after ten years but it doesn't mean I'm a better guitarist either.

I don't seem to see a lot of these around. Usually, when I do, the koa looks a lot nicer than mine. I only have some subtle flame on one part of the lower bout and some inside the cutaway. I don't care though, as I bought it to play it hard.

Brief rundown on the specs as I know them:
-Almost sure that it's a non-NT neck
-Cedar top
-Koa back/sides
-Mahogany neck
-Ebony fretboard
-Ebony bridge
-Ebony bridgepins with MOP inlay
-Not sure what kind of saddle or nut...
-Nut is 1.75" wide
-Not sure what the headstock cap material is...
-Abalone rosette
-MOP inlays
-Tortoiseshell binding on fretboard, body, and soundhole
-Grover tuners
-Has been tuned down a whole step with 12-53 gauge Elixirs all this time (yes, that is quite slinky as far as acoustics go, but I'm primarily an electric player)

Last edited by NOTP; 08-25-2014 at 06:31 PM.
Old 08-25-2014, 06:20 PM

And below are the photos from about ten years ago when I originally shared them on AGF in this thread: http://www.acousticguitarforum.com/f...ad.php?t=53882

Old 08-25-2014, 06:21 PM

Old 08-25-2014, 06:22 PM

Old 08-25-2014, 06:23 PM