The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-07-2006, 12:45 PM

Default Barre Chords - Worth It?

I've been playing acoustic only for a little over 5 years now, and really have never ventured into tackling barre chords. I've taken lessons now and then, and through some instructional books have developed into an OK player..not great by any means.

So anyway, I was looking through one of my Hal Leonard books early last week(Book 3), and decided to give barre chords a try. The book had a couple of notes about barre chords saying that they may be difficult at first, etc. But one note caught my eye that said something to the effect of "barre chords are easier to play on electric than acoustic because the action is lower on and electric, and the strings are lighter..."

Needless to say, I am having one hell of time getting these chords to ring true, and these are some of the basic ones such as F major. I can grab a regular F chord no problem, but beyond that..yeesh!

I've been practicing these for a few days now, and it is getting easier, but my question is are barre chords something I should take a bunch of time to learn on acoustic, or should I wait for when, or if I decide to try an electric guitar? I have a good Taylor 810 with medium strings which I love, and the action on the guitar is great. Obviously my problems stem from the fact I'm new at barre chords, but possibly also from the fact I'm using and acoustic with medium strings?

Should I just move on to something else rather than frustrate myself? Are barre chords really neccessary in acoustic playing?

Thanks much for any help & advice.

Larrivee OM-05
Larrivee LS-03 Mahogany Forum III
Larrivee L-05
Taylor 214 - 2003
Taylor 510 - 1997
Baby Taylor - 2002
Little Martin - 2003
Old 12-07-2006, 12:52 PM

Location: Not where I thought I was going, but probably where I need to be.