The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-06-2005, 01:18 PM

Default Are expensive guitars harder to play?

I just started learning chords through an instructor a week ago, and have been practicing. I can form the G, Em, C and D chords fairly well, but sometimes I am one fret off. Also, the main problem is that it buzzes when I try to make a C and D, unless I press down very hard, even though the action is good. It can touch the frets without too much effort, but I have to push extra hard to prevent that buzz, unless my fingers are perfectly placed (like within 1/10 mm).

My question is, would an expensive Taylor have the same challenges to play. If my Washburn buzzes when I play some chords, would the Taylor buzz as well? Would the frets be as challenging to find without looking?
Old 09-06-2005, 01:31 PM

Buzzing would be more a function of the set-up/action than of the price of the guitar (although some might argue that a "better" guitar has more latitude for set-up -- some really cheap guitars can't be set up for low action no matter what you do, but a Washburn shouldn't have that problem).

Finding frets without looking -- just takes practice, also not dependent on the price of the guitar.
Old 09-06-2005, 01:36 PM

This is something that'll probably diminish with time even with your current guitar. My guess is, you've been playing for a week (GREAT, by the way!) and you're wondering why it's so hard to play. The truth isn't you're gonn sound bad for a while. Just concentrate on the technique that your instructor is teaching, finger placement and proper fretting are important things to learn. Once you build up some good calluses on your left hand, you'll probably start seeing less buzz.

That which is good or great makes itself known, no matter how loud the clamor of denial. -- Theodore F. MacManus