The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 05-23-2005, 09:36 PM

Question Hearing things I want to record...

Every now and again, like 3-4 times a week, a tune will pop into my head, and I'll either hum it out, or if I am playing a guitar, start adding some music to it. Usually, I forget it within hours, but sometimes they stay with me or come back while playing.

Now, mind you, I am not a trained musician. I do not read music. I am no poet, nor lyricist, but a few of these tunes sound pretty darn good to me. And my wife, who finds it easy to critque anything I do, thinks so as well.

I'm not into making a second career here, but I would like to get a few of these down on tape, or digitial medium or something. I have gone to the Home recording.com (or something similar), and everytime I feel I have a decent idea of what to get gear-wise, somebody suggests another device to put in the line or whathaveyou.

I have two questions:

1) Do any of you semi-pros or pros out there recognize this afflicition I have of being bombarded with tunes? Or should I dial up Resthaven Glen and have the boys in the white coats swing on by...

2) Assuming I can hold off on the boys, what to do about the gear? I want something easy, quick, handelable by one person (me), yet high quality. Money is an object, but not a big one.

****, here comes another one! oh, wait its just Shastakovitch...

David

'04 955ce-L7 ("Unforgettable")
'97 815c ("Workhorse")
'70 D-35 ("Woodstock")
'65 360 ("Red")
'65 360-12 ("Also Red")
Old 05-23-2005, 10:50 PM

Stephen Foster is considered one of America's greatest songwriters. He wrote Oh! Susanna, Camptown Races, My Old Kentucky Home, Beautiful Dreamer, and many more in the mid 1800's. Foster carried a sketch pad wherever he went, as he was always thinking about songs. Whenever an idea, a scene, or phrase struck him, he would jot it down.