The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 01-24-2005, 02:37 PM

Default Any Worship/Church Bass players?

Hi All,

I have been playing bass at church now for a few months. Being a beginning guitar player, I have kept it very simple up until now just sticking with the bass notes mainly. We play from the song sheets that have the words and the chords on them.

I know I could add a 5th or 3rd note sometimes but I never seem to know when . . . so I have kept things simple.

How/when would I know to add 5ths and 3rd? When not to etc etc? When I started, I could hardly keep up with the root on some songs that had the walk downs etc . . . I am now used to finding all the notes, I know how to find octaves etc. So I guess I am looking for the next step . . . . to becoming a better bass player for our worship team.

It would be cool to find someone to that maybe plays a couple of the same songs we do and work through them . . . . . or something . . . kind of an online email tutor . . .

wayne
Old 01-24-2005, 05:36 PM

Practice my friend. Youre in the perfect situation to experiment and gain skill on bass. Try mixin it up with different rythyms too. Its all about experience and practice. Trial and error. The more you do it, and the more mistakes you make, the better you will get. And dont be afraid to paly a wrong note. Most people in the congregation probably wont notice, or let it take away from their worship. Also, ask for advice or suggestions from the other band members, especailly the drummer for rythyms and guitarists for notes, since their the ones that you play with and know. Im by no means an expert, but bass is a blast to play. Have fun with it and dont be afraid to experiment.
Will
________
GLASS PIPE

Last edited by cominghome419; 08-17-2011 at 01:57 AM.
Old 01-24-2005, 05:50 PM