The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-19-2015, 09:54 AM

Default My Experiment With Santa Cruz and Straight Up Strings

I'm not an expert on guitar strings but I know what my ears like and what they don't. Gave the new SCGC strings a try, but personally, I didn't care for them. Didn't like the feel nor the sound that my OM/PW got out of them. Also, they did not intonate well. Swithed back to Martin Monel Retro Lights and the results are much better. I also experimented with a set of Straight Up Strings, couldn't tell that they were any different from SCGC strings. I only kept them on for a short while. Couldn't stand the sound and feel. Both sets (SUS and SCGS) made my OM/PW sound steril and dull. I understand that SUS makes the strings for SCGS. Done with my experimentation. Back to what works for me.

For what its worth.

Tom
Collings UT1 Tenor Ukulele
Eastman 305 Mandolin
McSpadden Mountain Dulcimer
Thomason Mountain Dulcimer
Deering Eagle ii Banjo
Homemade Wash Tub Bass
O'Riordon Tin whistle (Traveler Set)
Hammered Dulcimer by Jim Hudson
Old 11-19-2015, 10:10 AM
Charter Member

Location: North of the Golden Gate, South of the Redwoods, East of the Pacific and West of the Sierras

Thanks for the report, Tom. Always good to know what works and what doesn't for you and your guitars. I have the Santa Cruz sets and like them on my Wingert rosewoods - just like the mid tension better than the low tension. Will try the Straight Ups next to see if there is any discernible difference. Sounds from your experience that there is not.

Best,
Jayne
Old 11-19-2015, 10:26 PM
Charter Member

Good to know. I just bought a SCGC OM this afternoon and I was going to try the SC strings. Prolly still will, but good to know not everyone likes them.
Old 11-19-2015, 10:57 PM