The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-13-2015, 11:42 AM

Default Charley's Guitar Shop in Dallas, for Setup?

Anyone have experience with Charley's in Dallas for setup? If so, how recent and what did you think? Thanks
Old 03-13-2015, 12:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBJones View Post
Anyone have experience with Charley's in Dallas for setup? If so, how recent and what did you think? Thanks
Yes sir!

And they are awesome at it. I have a Bedell MBA-17-G that I was about to sell because while it was one of the prettiest guitars I have ever seen, it sounded dull, dry, and boxy to me.

I bought the guitar sight unseen during the Bedell blowout and was generally disappointed. Still being a relative novice, I have had people tell me to find a good luthier to do my set-ups. I typically buy guitars that I see and play and just change the strings after I buy. I have had a couple of Bedells set-up before at a local shop (not Guitar Denter).

On a whim, I decided to seek out the best luthier in the area before I decided to sell this Bedell just to see if there was anything to it. All sources led me to Bryant Russell at Charley's.

Boy! Did he ever tame that Bedell. Now I will keep it and rank it 4th in sound and 1rst in playability among my Bedells despite it's narrow neck. I cannot wait to see what this guy can do with my MBCE-24F-G with a 1 3/4" neck!

The moral to this story for all the new comers:

Listen to the guys that are telling you that having a good set up will make a world of difference.

He transformed a guitar from a pretty paper weight into one that I would be proud to call my only guitar.

EDIT: I just got my guitar back last week.
Old 03-13-2015, 01:55 PM

Awesome! Martin is paying for a setup (because of a bad saddle), Charley's is their local shop. After your glowing endorsement, I'm really looking forward to it