The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-03-2014, 10:55 AM

Default Piano lessons - what's the best online, self taught method?

I've been playing "a little" piano for about 30 years but my playing has never evolved the way my guitar playing has.

I'm self taught on both instruments but I'm a much better guitarist - just came more naturally than piano.

I have a nice 100 year old upright piano that I write songs on almost every day.

But I want to get better.

The kind of playing I like is that Gospel/R&B style you hear guys like Mark Cohn, Leon Russell and Ray Charles play.

I can cover some of that but I need a jump start.

Where to start?

Anyone had good luck with online lessons?

Seagull CW w/Baggs M1 pickup...National Vintage Steel Tricone...SWR California Blonde Amp
Old 07-03-2014, 01:03 PM

Blasphemy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 07-03-2014, 01:21 PM

As someone who's been playing piano seriously since the age of 5, my advice would be to get yourself a good book on jazz improvisation and start learning from there. If you can learn jazz, you'll be able to apply your knowledge to any other style. Gospel, R&B, the blues, etc. can all be derived from jazz. Here are two of the best books I've come across:

http://www.sheetmusicplus.com/title/...-music/3424127

http://www.sheetmusicplus.com/title/...music/19880948

There are a few things you can do develop your technical ability to a level where you are able to play jazz, gospel, etc. The first thing I would recommend is to buy the Hanon Exercises and begin to work through those. They will do wonders for your technique:

http://www.sheetmusicplus.com/title/...-music/3537476