The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-14-2014, 09:32 AM

Default Did you ever play (or wanna play) professionally?

When I was a young man and my father asked me if I had considered what I wanted to do for a living, I told him I wanted to be a guitar player. With a look of worry and frustration on his face he said, "But son, you can't make a living playing guitar. And besides you'd likely have to play in smoke filled bars with a lot of loose women floating around." Trying to comprehend what he was telling me, I thought about it for a moment, smiled and replied, "What's your point?"
Old 01-14-2014, 09:37 AM

Never wanted to play professionally...at least insofar as it being my main source of income.

Music is a great "hobby". I play anywhere between 1 and 4 hours a day. I'm rather proficient. I get gigs. I compose music. I record music. I collaborate on music.

But I also have a day job. That pays reasonably well. And allows me to be able to enjoy this hobby without much concern to HAVE to play music to get by.

I prefer it that way.
Old 01-14-2014, 09:40 AM
Charter Member

My father in frustration once told me when I was about 16, "You'll never make much money playing guitar!"

In a way, he was right. I have made quite a bit of money playing professionally in the past, but if I compare my guitar-playing hourly rate with how I'm paid to do my engineering job, there is no contest. For a while I did both and was really tired all the time. When I finally stopped playing professionally and really started concentrating on my engineering job, I realized that my body breathed a huge sigh of relief. Moving away from professional playing was also a big, positive turning point in my engineering career, as well.