The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 06-04-2013, 09:01 AM

Thumbs up Need help choosing a guitar...

Hi Everybody

I have been playing guitar for 2 years now. I have an electric guitar but want to get an acoustic. I am torn between the Seagull S6, a Martin DX1ae, and an acoustic-electric Yamaha FGX730. Only the Seagull is pure acoustic, and I was also wondering if it really pays to have the option of plugging in. The Seagull is $419, the Martin is $479, and the Yamaha, used, is $279. Thanks!
Old 06-04-2013, 09:09 AM

My advice is play the guitars.

I bought a guitar 3 weeks ago. I went to buy a fender telecaster made in japan. I came out with a michael kelly guitar. Why? Because the price/ playability/ looks/ sound/ versabilty was equal or some better or worse. Never heard of the brand and i love the guitar.

For example i bought a guitar walked home told everyone i bought a freshman (for past few days went played many guitars) Got home then i remember it was a tanglewood. Tbh i couldnt care about brands i took the guitar home because i enjoyed it the most. For acoustic for me it split up in

SHAPE
SIZE
PLAYABILITY
SOUND
LOOKS (To an extent)
PRICE (Even then if i find one twice the price i might even save up for it)
Old 06-04-2013, 09:37 AM

From what I've read about these models, the Seagull seems to be all laminates. The Martin and Yamaha have solid tops. If you have a chance to play them, that's always a good idea.

My first impression would be to go with the Yamaha. If you wanted to go a little higher end in the future you could probably sell the Yamaha for pretty much what you paid for it, since it is used.
Old 06-04-2013, 09:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete12string View Post