The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 06-05-2012, 12:21 PM

Default Bought my first Nylon and think I have a problem

Hi there,

New member here. I wouldn't call myself an acoustic player but I've been playing electric for 35 years. I strum an acoustic here and there, mostly for recording in my home studio.

Bought a used Taylor NS24CE - a crossover nylon string guitar that is fun to play. My issue is that when plugged in, the E, A & D strings buzz like crazy (unless I play ever so gentle). The buzzing is not audible acoustically - I don't think the string is vibrating on the frets. Makes me think that the pickup (wherever and whatever it is) itself is vibrating.

Anyone have any insight for me?

Also, while I have your attention: the strings sound pretty dead and I should replace them, but searched as I may, I cannot find any tips for what strings I should consider. Advice much appreciated!

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-05-2012, 12:55 PM

Location: New Zealand, South Island, way down toward the bottom!

Could be a lose connection somewhere or a rattling piece like a knob or something similar, could also be a loose brace (less likely) or even a loose battery (does that model have a battery?). It would have to be a pretty specific kind of buzz to be inaudible acoustically and then show up when plugged in - maybe some issue with one of the piezos/soundboard mounts (again, I don't know which system is in your guitar) or in the electronics setup itself. I hope you can figure out what the issue is and fix it, those Taylor NS models are so great plugged in that it would be a shame to only use it unplugged!
Old 06-05-2012, 01:02 PM
Charter Member

Default Buzz