The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 06-07-2003, 11:56 PM

Default going to buy 312ce or 412ce ES for wife / flat wound daddario exlights? ?

She plays 6 nights a week down here in key west. A friend of mine who is a great guitar player in hollywood fla. is going to look at some for me, he says there are some special ones with high gloss. I know nothing and my wife was a drummer i made her learn guitar she is self taught. She plays without a pick. She plays with the flat wounds to avoid that zip on 4 or 5 songs she does. She has been playing an ovation. I bought her a rainsong but it was to big for her. Then tried a line 6 variax but she had never played an electric guitar. So when she started to play it live at work even i could tell it wasnt right. Plus she kept hitting the selector switch. She works 6 nights a week so i cant ask her to practice she wouldnt any way. So i might be driving the 350mi roundtrip on our only day off to pick up one of these taylors. She plays sloppy joes this wed from noon to 4 you can watch and listen to the show at sloppyjoes.com she could well be playing one of the taylors with flat wounds. Are there other types of flat wounds? does anybody use them? Should she be using the extra lights? I made her play guitar now i have to be a soundman guitar tech. My previous life experience as a carpenter, auto restorer hasnt helped me to much. Down here there only seems to be burnt out musicians who only know their own equipment. So all i have is this computer. This small bodied taylor with the ES seems to be what ive been looking for i have been reading all the archived posts for the last 3 days . Thanks for being here.
Old 06-08-2003, 09:57 AM