The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-10-2011, 08:46 AM

Default I'm in a rut, please help

Hey everyone,
Let me start by saying, I'm a beginner/intermediate guitar player.
I have a worn out spot on the neck of my guitar on the top 3 frets, cause I don't ever leave there unless there's a capo involved.
Mostly open chords or cowboy chords as I have heard them refurred to on this site, almost strickly strumming, with a little bit of finger picking.
I have a playlist of about 20 start to finish songs and about another 20 I play parts of, my problem is...I love it, but I'm not growing,let me refrase that, the songs I play,I feel I do quite well...cause I play them over and over.

I could ramble on and on..
I don't know where to go from here?
Bar chords, learn the neck, learn to read music..not sure?
Its not that I am not putting the time in, I get to play about 1 1/2 hours a day or more but I just keep falling back to the same songs I'm comfortable with...
Anything from anyone would be helpful, just looking for a push
Thanks
Rich
Old 01-10-2011, 08:53 AM

As you enjoy the strumming along with your preferred tracks, why not expend that by adding the barre chords and it will open up a world of new material to you. The upside of this is it's still within your normal technique so although you're learning, it's a kind of familiar learning. The key is you have identified you're in a rut, its the mind telling you you're ready for more.

All the best
Old 01-10-2011, 08:54 AM
Charter Member

Hi Rich…
Jamming partner…

Playing with others who are at the same level as we are (or better) seeds new ideas, techniques, and inspiration - at least it does for me.

Baby #1.1
Baby #1.2
Baby #02
Baby #03
Baby #04
Baby #05

Larry's songs...

…Just because you've argued someone into silence doesn't mean you have convinced them…
Old 01-10-2011, 09:02 AM