The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 02-28-2003, 06:49 AM

Question What Strat to look for?

I'm thinking of picking up a used Strat to add to my modest collection...I have some limited knowledge about electrics.

I know there are some real Strat x-spurts on the TGF...can you guys help with some info on what to look for and what to avoid...?

There are so many variations, it makes my head spin. I don't mind changing p/ups and hardware, etc. to upgrade if necessary. I'm working off a budget of no more than $1000.00 (but less IS better )

Thanks as always for your help...

Cheers

Old 02-28-2003, 08:12 AM

My guitar instructor plays a really nice one that they only make every 3 years. I think its a swamp ash model. Around 1200 new. So you should be able to find a used one under $1000 easily. I will find out more from that guy about his guitar and repost the info sometime monday night.

Whatever you do buy American
Old 02-28-2003, 08:25 AM

Hi Mike,

I'm not an expert by any means, but I have a bit of experience with Strats that might help. Since your budget goes up to $1,000 and you're willing to buy used, you can look at nearly the entire range of strats (excluding Custom Shop's and some of the re-issues). I've had a chance to play the American Deluxe's, which sell for around $1,100 new, and they are very nice guitars. The American Series, around $800 new, are good as well. There is variation amongst electrics, so it would certainly be beneficial to play as many models as you can before deciding.