The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-02-2010, 11:04 PM

Default real hard time doing bar chords (im a beginner )

Any suggestions on how to get better at them? First finger doesn't want to comply.
Old 01-02-2010, 11:08 PM

If its just to build confidence that barres are possible then you can tune your guitar down half a step or capo around the 2nd, 3rd fret and try barres around the 5th fret instead of an F in standard tuning
Old 01-02-2010, 11:21 PM

Get the action set low,getting it set up properly will do wonders for playability and barre chords.
Old 01-02-2010, 11:24 PM

Practice and building up your strength will help. I've been playing since 1964 and barre chords are getting harder for me to play because of arthritis.

Playing guitar badly since 1964.

Some Taylor guitars.
Three Kala ukuleles (one on tour with the Box Tops).
A 1937 A-style mandolin.
Old 01-02-2010, 11:28 PM

Geezer guys that's all way above my head. Maybe I'm mistaken what a bar chord is. Its where you use your first finger to press multiple strings right?
Old 01-02-2010, 11:33 PM

This might be helpful....... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeEUDoMIwDA
Old 01-02-2010, 11:56 PM

That helped explain the reason for bar chords so thanks. Didn't explain a way to make it easier to press multiple strings with first. finger easier or a way to get good at it.
Old 01-03-2010, 12:00 AM

i would alternate between putting your first finger down to barre the strings then making the shape, and making the shape first then fretting the barre. Thats how i did it, it all kinda just came together after awhile
Old 01-03-2010, 12:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoro View Post
That helped explain the reason for bar chords so thanks. Didn't explain a way to make it easier to press multiple strings with first. finger easier or a way to get good at it.