The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-08-2009, 03:10 AM

Default A/B'ing my 114ce vs Ibanez Artwood

Hi guys,

the past few days, i've been doing a lot of A/B'ing on my new 114ce. I have a small 15w acoustic amp at home to do some tests.

Since this is my first time to have a Taylor, I wanted to know just how much different it sounds versus my "lesser" guitars. I have an Ibanez Artwood AW15 with a solid cedar top and laminate B/S and mahogany neck with a DTAR sadducer pickup which I installed myself.

first of all, the 114ce is about 5 times the price of the artwood. Unplugged, the 114ce is a bright sounding guitar, but a very sweet kind of bright, now I understood what the Taylor "bell-like" sound is all about. The artwood just didnt have any of this kind of resonance, and I thought that my artwood was "bright" sounding compared to a lot of guitars i've heard and played! That said, i still consider the artwood sound beautiful, while the taylor sound is exhilarating.

another welcome surprise, the 114ce seemed to project louder than the artwood dreadnaught. one would think that any dread should be louder, and my artwood is pretty loud already, but the 114 just sounded bigger.

Next thing I noticed is the overtones on the 114ce. it is wonderful, like a choir singing in harmony with the strings. now a/b'ing against the artwood, i now realize that the overtones of the artwood doesnt have that special kind of harmony, more like random and unbalanced. Prior to this, i used to brag about how beautiful the artwood resonated overtones...

Plugged in test -