The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-22-2008, 06:33 PM

Default Best book of scales?

As I've been learning to play for a few weeks now, I've enjoyed learning and practicing some scales. I'm also committed to learning to read music. Is there a practical book of just scales that includes both stave notation and tabs? Figured this would be a good place to ask - thanks!
Old 07-22-2008, 09:23 PM
Charter Member

DB. I don't know if these are the best but I sure like them and have given them as gifts to a couple of budding guitarists who also found them helpful.

http://www.uncletim.com/

Martin 0000-18 12-Fret Adi/Sinker Mahogany
Old 07-22-2008, 09:47 PM

I just checked out the Uncle Tim website and bought the building blocks book. I've been playing for thirty years and can not play a lead to save my soul. I can play pretty well, just can't play leads unless I work them up ahead of time and play the the SAME WAY every time!

I sure hope this helps.

David
David's CDs
Old 07-23-2008, 02:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldrocker View Post
DB. I don't know if these are the best but I sure like them and have given them as gifts to a couple of budding guitarists who also found them helpful.

http://www.uncletim.com/

Thanks oldrocker - I'll check these out.
Old 07-23-2008, 02:59 PM
Charter Member

Everyone has different methods of teaching and learning but for me, these books were very helpful. One day I'll learn what TAB is, other than a kind of soft drink we used to buy.

Martin 0000-18 12-Fret Adi/Sinker Mahogany
Old 07-23-2008, 06:05 PM
Charter Member

Default Jamey Aebersold

One of the best books I've found for scales/exercises is "Jazz Handbook" by Jamey Aebersold (www.jazzbooks.com) Though it is a jazz book and not specific to just guitar, it can be applied to all styles. You can download it for free at: