The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-23-2008, 10:51 AM

Default Newbie with humidity problems that are keeping me from playing

Hi, I recently started learning how to play on a cheap used Fender and was doing great until the bridge started to come up. I think the problem was partially a cheap guitar and partially the 20% humidity in my house. This Fender was $50 so there is no point in paying to have it fixed, and I'm ready to make the commitment to buy something nicer ($500+), but I want to solve my humidity problem before bringing something home.

I bought a RS hygrometer that has read 20%ish humidity for the last few weeks. I've been trying the sponge in a ziplock bag with no success in getting the humidity up in my case. I'm not prepared to do whole house or room humidification. Can I get some help solving this problem so I can get a new guitar and start practicing again?

Some specific questions I've got:

I've only got a gig bag, do I need a hard case to make this work?

Does it matter much if the ziplock is open or closed? I've got tons of holes in the bag and have it in the gig bag near the head with the gig bag zipped and the ziplock closed.

Should I just use more sponges?

I'm using one of those kitchen sponges with a scrubbing pad on one side. Is it possible that a different sponge would work alot better?

Thanks!
Old 02-23-2008, 10:57 AM

they make a humidifier to go in the soundhole of your git. it needs a case. a good guitar should have a hard case, most are sold with them the humidifiers cost like 15$ well worth it, an absolute necessity i wouldnt fool with sponges in baggies leakage can be a detriment to a nice guitar
Old 02-23-2008, 12:11 PM

You can do it in a gigbag, but it will lose some moisture to the outside and that will make for a slower recovery.