The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 11-03-2023, 07:17 PM
Charter Member

Default Lightweight Solution for Amplifying Acoustic and Vocals

Hello, fine folks,

Apologies for the long post—there’s a TLDR at the bottom.

I’ve been thinking for a little while about getting a new small acoustic amp or PA system. I currently do not have a system of my own, but I’ve owned a few over the years and used many more regularly. The most recent amp I owned was an Aer Compact 60/4. The AER was almost perfect—super compact, really lovely guitar sound, but not a great vocal sound for me. I sold it to someone I play with regularly, and it sounds great for his playing style and voice, either alone or as a monitor patched out to a larger house system.

I used to work in the live sound industry, so I have a fair amount of experience with PA systems (though it’s been nearly a decade since I left that world). I sold the AER thinking that I’d buy a smaller set of powered speakers and mixer, which I figured would serve me better for vocal amplification and generally be more flexible. Then the pandemic happened, and live sound equipment wasn’t really a priority for obvious reasons. As I’m coming back around to the idea of a little PA now, I’m dreading the sheer amount of stuff involved in a PA. Speakers, stands, cables, power strips, mixer, mic(s), preamps….all before you get to instruments. I hated hauling big speakers around when it was my job, and I have a feeling I’d hate it even more now.