The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-02-2022, 08:47 AM

Default How To "Slow Down" Onstage?

I'm still new to performing live, and whether it's stage fright, being uncomfortable with the lighting, not being familiar with the sound equipment, I find that when I begin playing, I tend to speed things up. This leads me to missing notes, forgetting lyrics, and otherwise having a less than satisfactory performance.

When I practice, I know that I'm playing a tempo more comfortable to me, as well as for the songs I'm playing. While I can't (or rather, won't) take a metronome on stage, I'm wondering what tips or tricks you can share that I can use to help myself slow down and get into the groove?
Old 05-02-2022, 08:58 AM

First, make a final decision on whether or not you really want to slow it down. Most audiences can tolerate about one slow song for every 10 fast ones. They tolerate no slow songs that appear to be "dragging".

I've had to slow a few of mine down due to what I call the "adrenaline pump" of being on stage. For that, I mentally count myself into the song and try to forget I'm on stage. Sometimes I take a small step towards the mic and sing to it like it's a person. I have no clue why this works for me, but it takes away some of the tension, and I tend to stay on beat better.
Old 05-02-2022, 09:28 AM
Charter Member

Most everyone I know has that problem. You just have to keep reminding yourself that it's not a race to get through it.

Taylor GS Mini Mahogany.
Guild D-20
Gretsch Streamliner
Morgan Monroe MNB-1w

https://www.minnesotabluegrass.org/
Old 05-02-2022, 09:36 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by fpuhan View Post