The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-11-2016, 09:19 AM
Charter Member

Default NGD - Blackbird Rider

About a month ago, I purchased a Blackbird Rider carbon fiber guitar. Before I describe my impressions, I’ll share why I was even interested in the first place.

I am a serious amateur who travels frequently for work. I have always had a compact “travel” guitar in my collection since I purchased a Steinberger by Hohner in 1992. Back then, I was an electric player, and rarely played my one acoustic, a mid-60’s Gibson B-15 that I picked up on my way to college in 1981. (Now that I think about it, that old student guitar was my first travel guitar, but I digress…). The Hohner was soon replaced by a real Steinberger, which I traded in years later when I got my Teuffel Birdfish. Every step of the way, I was looking for something that was easy to take on trips but had killer playability and tone. In that sense, the Birdfish is the ultimate electric guitar for travel, and in some ways is simply the ultimate electric guitar, period.

In the late ‘90s I started playing much more acoustic. I’d picked up a Taylor 810 and realized how cool it was to have a nice acoustic around for songwriting and recording. GAS being what it is, I picked up a Larrivée Parlor in 2003 so I could experience those same sensations in the random hotel rooms I sometimes call home. That was a fun guitar, and I didn’t have to worry too much about it getting banged around because it hadn’t cost me too much money, unlike the Birdfish. But I never played the Larrivée at home because it was no match for the Taylor, which itself turned out to be no match for the first Goodall that entered my life a couple of years later. Still, I kept the Larrivée for ten years before moving on to a Baranik Retreux Parlor.