The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-21-2002, 02:16 PM

Default Anybody know about Bear Claw Spruce?

I'm looking for a good explanation on how it becomes Bear Claw. why it's good or better etc.

TIA!
Old 02-21-2002, 02:35 PM

I think it goes like this (bear with me, as I am not a wood expert): the "bear claw" marking is actually a healed wood scar. Something appened to the tree, a bear sharpening its claws for example, and leaves a deap gouge. The tree heals itself over time, leaving a swearly patterned area embedded in the natural grain. Is the soundboard any better for it? I doubt it, but it sure is purty (and purty sells ).
Old 02-21-2002, 02:45 PM

I don't know how it happens, but it's highly prized by some folks. Some claim a tonal advantage, but I can't imagine how that works. Personally, I'd rather have "unclawed" spruce.
Old 02-21-2002, 03:17 PM

It has nothing to do with actual bears clawing on trees and then healing up with scars that are later uncovered when the wood is sawn into boards. It is named bear claw because it kind of resembles what one might imagine that could look like and people have a natural tendency to want to name things after what they look like. It's kind of like calling wrinkles around the eyes crows feet. They aren't really caused by crows stomping around on your face - well at least not in most people. It is actually just some sporadic rippling or wavyness in the alignment of the wood fibers that in most spruce trees grow straight as a ruler. The causes for finding some of this fiber rippling in one tree while the tree right next to it doesn't have any are generally believed to be genetics though there could possibly be climatic stresses that could cause or enhance it.