The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-19-2000, 02:23 AM

Question Taylor for the Blues

I am relatively new to playing the guitar, having been playing an electric for about a year now. I play mainly blues style music and am interested in getting a Taylor acoustic guitar. I use a pick, am not anticipating going fingerstyle for a while yet. What do people recommend for guitar size/models? Also, there are no guitar shops nearby to A/B guitars. Any recommendations for a good guitar shop I can deal with over the net?
Old 09-20-2000, 09:52 PM

Hey Gm, how are ya? I'm not an expert on the Taylor line but I do have a 414 (newer one with Ovangkol back and sides) and its great for playin' the blues. I too use mainly flat pickin' and I get very good projection from the GA size body. Always had dreadnaughts but they really do a number on my ribs! The 14 series is much more comfortable for me to play w/o sacrifycing too much bass. Plus you really can't beat the Taylor neck if your used to playing the elactric guitar. Not sure who has Taylors in your neck of the woods but someone on this site should be able to help ya out. Good luck in tour Taylor quest!
Broly
Old 09-20-2000, 10:54 PM

Thanks for the feedback Broly. I havnen't ever had a chance to play an Ovongcol wood guitar. I have been eyeing the 14 series guitars just for the reason you stated.
Old 09-21-2000, 11:26 AM

If you're looking for that "midrangey" kind of blues tone, I would go with a non-cutaway x12 series guitar (maybe the simple 312, 512, or even the brighter 612), and maybe the Fishman Rare Earth humbucker p/u.

My 612C sounds pretty nice for blues, but my Martin 0001 just nails that tone. A big part of that, to my ears, is the mahogany body.

Brett
Old 09-22-2000, 11:20 PM
Jim