The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-27-2020, 12:14 PM

Default How hard do you push yourself to improve

Is there a line where you push yourself to hard to improve in either technique or songs that are too far beyond your current abilities where it becomes demotivating or a set up for failure.
Conversely if we don’t push hard enough to improve do we risk floundering and losing interest.
How has that played out for you? Is there a guideline for a balance?
Old 12-27-2020, 12:24 PM
Resident Guitar Hack

Sure, you can push yourself “too hard” and/or frustrate yourself by having unrealistic expectations. That’s pretty much true in every aspect of life. The key is to be self aware enough to find the balance that works for you. I didn’t take up playing until I retired a few years ago. So I have to keep reminding myself I’m just doing this for relaxation and fun. I’m a hard driver by nature and was constantly pushing myself to success during my working life. No more, buddy. I’m retired.

Obviously, you folks who have much different goals in your playing life are going to strike a different balance. As you should.

”Stumblebum Blues” on the Walker Clark Fork (Advanced Jumbo)
”Hydro Genesis” on the Walker Clark Fork (Advanced Jumbo)
Old 12-27-2020, 12:39 PM