The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-01-2024, 01:58 PM

Default Singing Louder

After a recent "unplugged" appearance I did, one of my colleagues came up to me and said, "Your playing is great, and the (first) song you did was funny, but many of us were struggling to hear the lyrics."

I could have just swept this aside as the result of taking the stage after having gone through a recent head cold, but this wasn't the first time.

Which kind of surprises me, because I've always had a good, strong speaking voice (I've been an instructor and presenter). And playing without a mic or amplification is how I mostly practice, so I felt like I was "belting it out," but it appears I was the only one to think so.

Certainly, the first piece of advice I'd expect to get is, "Practice more." I get it. But at some point, my voice goes out of tune. I'm not a bad singer, but as the old advice goes, "A man's got to know his limits."

Any tips? Has this happened to you?
Old 02-01-2024, 02:05 PM

There's a lot that could go into this...

Both guitar and voice unamplified?

You wouldn't happen to have any video of you playing, would you?

Voices can be very directional...

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 02-01-2024, 04:06 PM

This is more common than you might think.

If you can have someone record a clip on your cell phone at your next unplugged performance, you'll probably get an idea of what they were talking about.

The best solution I've found - taking IRL voice lessons. You will learn what it really means to project, and how to do it.

1978 Larrivee L-26 cutaway
1988 Larrivee L-28 cutaway
2006 Larrivee L03-R
2009 Larrivee LV03-R
2016 Irvin SJ cutaway
2020 Irvin SJ cutaway (build thread)
K+K, Dazzo, Schatten/ToneDexter

Notable Journey website
Facebook page

Where the spirit does not work with the hand, there is no art. - Leonardo Da Vinci
Old 02-01-2024, 05:39 PM