The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 07-04-2020, 09:02 AM

Default Forgive me

...I’m a total electric guitar newb, so I apologize for this question regarding a topic that is likely well understood/known....

I had some sense from past reading that tremelos can generally be quite problematic in terms of sending the guitar out of of tune when they are used. Some recent references/reading I’ve come across seems to suggest the tuning related problems for tremelos go even further beyond this, and can even be a problem when the tremelo is not used? Particularly with alternate tunings?

Is this true? Can someone sum up what the lay of the land is generally speaking with tremelos? Starting to get the impression they are more of a pain in the butt than anything else?

Thanks in advance for helping characterize what the deal is...just trying to decide if a first electric guitar purchase will be with or without one...

Cheers
2019 PRS Silver Sky
Old 07-04-2020, 02:17 PM

Depends on the tremolo (vibrato) system on the guitar (including the bridge) and how heavy handed you want to be.

I installed a Bigsby vibrato on my Samick Greg Bennett Royale semi including switching out the stop tail bridge to a roller bridge. (Guitar stays in tune when giving it a gentle push/pull over chords when I'm in the mood but anything more than that effects the tuning). I also installed a Bigsby on my Telecaster and again, it stays in tune if I'm pretty gentle with it. (A Bigsby vibrato isn't designed for dive bombing).

There are things you can do to set up your Stratocaster's tremolo (vibrato) so you can be a bit more heavy handed and of course, there are fail safe Floyd Rose and other systems which you can install to allow you to be as heavy handed as you like. (I'm not much of a fan though).