The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 11-29-2022, 09:07 AM

Default Orange Crush Acoustic 30

I am an old guy. I started playing guitar four years ago at age 68. Immediately began working on fingerstyle acoustic. Love John Fahey, Jack Rose type stuff. I didn’t plan on ever performing. Just playing for my enjoyment. It’s a hobby. An endeavor to keep my brain and hands from dying in retirement. My mother at 96 years old is in an assisted living facility and I recently have thought that they would enjoy some acoustic entertainment and it would be fun for me. (Back note. I started playing drums at 12 years old in 1962 and played for several years in a few bands. I remember the feeling of performing before an audience. Loved it. But those were much different times and venues! &#129763. Since I don’t think a bunch of old folks in assisted living would enjoy my amateur foray into John Fahey tunes, I have decide to spend some time, like a year, working on some fingerstyle Christmas carols for next year.
I recently purchased an Orange Crush Acoustic 30. I have played with it some but really don’t have a handle on it yet. I was thinking about buying a Sonicake Sonic Wood effects pedal. My main guitars are a Taylor 312ce 12 fret and a Taylor 412ce custom 12 fret. I may use a Taylor 352ce 12 string. If I can get a good enough grasp on it.
So now the question. What do I really need to play small venues, like assisted living facilities, and how do I set it up?
Sorry for the long post!
Old 11-29-2022, 04:19 PM

You could go naked if the venue is small enough and you can get enough volume from your fingerpicking.

If your audience would be more than 20-30 feet away (typical small day room), I would choose

Microphone and stand (even if you don't sing, you may want to talk to your audience)

Amplifier with two inputs, one for instrument and one for microphone