The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-08-2024, 01:25 PM
Charter Member

Default Making strides over time: Revisiting previously dismissed songs, hope for beginners

No, I'm not a beginner. But I'm also very much not in any way accomplished. That's my fault. Although I've been 'plugging away' at this for about 10 years, my method has been almost completely self-taught with no real structured process like learning scales that would have helped with soloing. I'm on the slow, long road to self-discovery and improvement, the 'scenic route' as I like to call it. I started by learning basic open chords and then bar chords. What worked for me has always been learn a few chords, find a simple song that I know and love with those chords and learn to play the song. As time went by, more complicated songs that added a chord or two would come up that forced me to learn a few more chords and chord variations.

Early on it was the OLGA website. (Remember OLGA - the On-Line Guitar Archive?) It was eventually shut down due to legal issues it couldn't resolve. But websites like the Ultimate Guitar forum sprang up and stuck. This is a great website for finding simplified guitar tabs for many, MANY songs. They are user supplied and often overly simplified and inaccurate ways to play songs. But it's free and a good place to start. Like many, we (wife and I, acoustic duo) started slow, learning a few simple songs and started to play them at open mics. Eventually we learned enough to play some short, freebie 'shows' for food or tips. Ten years later, we're retired and gigging out, booking around 150 shows a year and having a blast.