The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-25-2014, 09:28 PM

Default Teaching breakthrough

I have been teaching guitar and voice on the side now for several years. I don't claim to be a master, just someone who is a trained teacher and is willing to help people learn to love and make music.

A bit over a month ago, I got a very special student. He is a developmentally disabled man, about my age. He has, from the very beginning, been very excited to be in a music lesson, holding a guitar and making noise with it. Progress is limited, but we always have a good time.

He can't read. Coordination is a challenge. I am not always sure he can see the different strings as separate things. Picking one string at a time has taken weeks, and it isn't always the right string, of course.

I've been trying to teach him a simple melody, using different techniques to learn how to play three notes, but... It wasn't going anywhere, and tonight, in the middle of trying the new method I came up with during the week, I had a thought - can he count to four? He can count to ten using his fingers, so if he can count to four without using his fingers, then what if I tuned his guitar to an open tuning - would he be able to strum the chord? I'd given up on teaching him to finger a chord in standard tuning, but this thought occurred to me, and I jumped on it and went with it. I tuned the guitars to open D, handed his back to him with a big fat hard felt bass pick that he can hold on to, and in almost no time, he was strumming that open D chord. Over and over. Count to four, count to four, count to to four. He was so excited, he was visibly shaking on the piano bench. It sounds like music!

I tried to see if he could fret across the neck, but it won't work. Next week, I'm taking a tone bar and a bottle neck, and we'll see if he can use one of those.