The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-31-2023, 05:13 PM
Charter Member

Default learning keyboard to become a better guitarist

Hi all,

My kids have a keyboard and I was thinking of putting time into it to try and learn it a bit.

I do not have a desire to learn keyboard, I don't have any songs or anything I'm thinking would be perfect with keys - but I'm a self taught kitchen table player without much instruction on theory and from what I heard is the piano gives you a good foundation in chord structure, spacing between notes etc...

I know there are many very good musicians who play multiple instruments on this forum, in your opinions - would it be worth learning some keyboard to further my guitar prowess, or would I be best off staying focused on guitar if that truly is where my interest lies?

Just thinking out loud, but appreciate any input.

Rgds - Bill
Old 12-31-2023, 06:20 PM

My guitar teacher, a superb fingerstyle jazz player, used the Mel.Bay books
Old 12-31-2023, 06:35 PM

The keys are nice because all the notes of the scale are in a row. This makes all the basics easy to 'visualize', in my opinion.

Everything else from there, sky's the limit.
Old 12-31-2023, 07:03 PM

I have long thought that there is more music to be made and learned from a piano (or any keyboards), than on another other instrument. For one thing, you have 10 fingers to make individual notes with. No other instrument does that. And you learn harmony and chords - try doing that on a sax or trumpet! You can sing with it, unlike a clarinet or trombone. And you learn to play bass clef.

The assumptions here are that you are playing in one place only, as pianos are not portable. And if you substitute with a keyboard, you'll need electricity to make any sound. And you do not need to bend notes... And....