The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-23-2005, 12:33 PM

Default Help Bone vs Tusq ?

I have a Taylor 410 (2004 model)....The saddle & Nut are made of Tusq....Some people have suggested i replace this with Bone....I want to know two things. 1- Is Tusq considered good quality material for Saddle & Nut ?...2- If i do switch to bone, will it make a significant difference (upgrade) in the sound of my guitar ? Or is just for looks.....Sorry if my question makes me soud like an amateur...It's because i am...Been only playing guitar for 3 years...
Old 04-23-2005, 12:39 PM

Try Bob Colosi's website: http://www.guitarsaddles.com/
A lot of information on there. Nice to see another Canuck on the forum.
Tokai Love Rock
Old 04-23-2005, 12:42 PM
Charter Member

Default I vote for bone...

Hi...
I'm no scientist, and I love guitars. Let me tell you a story...

When I bought my 714CE, I asked the in shop setup guy to cut me a new bone saddle before walking out, and he gave me the sales pitch on Tusq. Being understanding I listened to the pitch, and then asked him to do bone anyway.

He still wanted to argue, so I gently reminded him it was my $35. He headed off to the setup room and cut a new saddle, and brought the guitar back. He strummed a chord and exclaimed...''Hey, that's better!'' I said, ''I know.''

Some advantages of bone I've been told...
  • Density...it's harder than plastic, other manmade synthetics used for blanks, or ivory.
  • Harder to cut grooves or develop burrs in which add to string breakage.
  • It's nice looking.

Baby #01
Baby #02
Baby #03
Baby #04
Full-size Full-Scale Baby #4

Larry's songs...

…Just because you've argued till a discussion turns silent doesn't mean you have convinced anyone…
Old 04-23-2005, 01:07 PM

Send a message via AIM to Guyute