The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-23-2020, 04:52 PM

Default NGD: Collings SJ Koa Custom!

I have a stunner in my hands, comrades! Collings SJ Koa Custom with torrefied Sitka spruce top. Full-body sunburst. Some of you may be aware that I'd been searching for this model for a while, especially in Koa, only to have used examples get snatched up right before my eyes. The new Collings Koa SJs seemed prohibitively expensive and hard to come by - I'd since learned that Collings raised their prices recently, and they also don't currently have in stock any Koa that meets their expectations, so it could be a little bit until we see a Koa instrument from Collings. I'd also contemplated going with a custom option, but as I'm a newbie in this world, I wasn't comfortable dealing with the variables, so decided to stick to my guns with this Collings, given that I know about Collings' perfectionism and execution in material selection and construction. For sentimental reasons, too, I wanted a little piece of Austin with me, a city which I'd loved living in before pivoting back to the east coast 2 years ago.

So, after much hand-wringing and covid-induced obsessive internalizations, I decided to pull the trigger on a new Collings SJ Koa Custom model at The Music Emporium

https://themusicemporium.com/guitars...d_sitka_custom