The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 03-05-2019, 02:29 PM

Default Emerald X30 Light/Medium (12-56) Strings

I usually string my acoustic guitars with Elixir light (12-53) strings. I have in the past used custom light, HD light and medium. With medium strings I always felt the treble strings were almost too stiff to ring out properly which led to an unbalanced sound. I just finished stringing my X30 with Elixir light/medium (12-56) strings (80/20 bronze), a gauge that I have never used before. I must say I think they're a really good match for the X30. The heavy bass strings bring out the bottom end on this guitar but doesn't dominate against the lighter treble strings, at least to my ears. Really happy with this string gauge. The 80/20 coupled with a bone saddle brightens this guitar up real nice to where I like it.
Old 03-05-2019, 02:35 PM
Charter Member

I have been using the light-mediums on the X10; doesn’t seem to change the plugged in sound, but makes for a nice balanced acoustic tone.
Old 03-05-2019, 03:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Jim View Post
I have been using the light-mediums on the X10; doesn’t seem to change the plugged in sound, but makes for a nice balanced acoustic tone.
Nice to hear that they're nicely balanced on the X10 as well. My only regret is buying one set as I'm now curious how they would sound on the old Gibby as well. Now I need an excuse to sneak away and head back to the music store.
Old 03-06-2019, 05:41 AM
Charter Member

I use Med. Light Elixir PB on my X30 and love them on this particular guitar.
Iris Smeck Slope Shoulder Dread
Iris AB Model
Many Takamine Pro series
Godin A8 Mandolin
Old 03-06-2019, 06:11 AM

My X30 is still on the factory light gauge strings, but will get medium-lights at its first string change.
Old 03-06-2019, 08:05 AM