The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 07-14-2017, 11:34 AM

Default Emerald Guitar questions?

If anyone has played or owned an Emerald with the
LR Baggs Element Active System – VTC;
Does it sound great on these guitars?
Is the Anthem better?
Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Old 07-14-2017, 01:24 PM

I just ordered an X20-12 Artisan earlier this week. Although I had been leaning toward "no pickup" my wife convinced me to add it anyway, just in case. Taking the lower cost option, I went with the Element Active VTC. My fingers are crossed that Emerald makes only good choices in what pickups to put into their guitars, because I have zero experience with this pickup system - at least until my new guitar is delivered in December.

I'm sure that others will contribute comments here shortly.

Last edited by Earl49; 07-14-2017 at 02:13 PM. Reason: tpyos adn speeelllling
Old 07-14-2017, 06:26 PM
Charter Member

I am not an expert on the LR Baggs stuff, nor did I stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night, but if I understand correctly, the Anthem is pretty much the Element with an added in-body mic. As such, I would think the Anthem is an upgrade from the Element.

I have an X20 with the Element VTC, and it sounds great. When I first plugged it in, it seemed bass heavy compared to my other guitars/pickups, but no issue to EQ it for the sound I like.
Old 07-14-2017, 08:56 PM

Thanks Captain! If you say it sounds great then I can't go wrong with either.

Does anyone have an opinion on this X7 top?

Old 07-14-2017, 09:06 PM
Anticipation Junkie

As you know, that X7 is one of the July Select Series with the Royal Ebony top. No doubt, it is striking. Personally, I prefer a more subtle woody top in terms of poppy grain, coco being my favorite, but you can't go wrong with this guitar/top. It IS beautiful and if you like it, that's all that matters.
Old 07-14-2017, 10:00 PM