The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 08-20-2015, 01:57 PM

Default Blackbird Lucky 13 versus Rainsong Shorty

I owned a Rainsong Shorty for awhile and thoroughly enjoyed being able to leave it out on a stand for ready access. I was happy with the tone compared with my first guitar, a Taylor GC3. Then I purchased a Taylor 522 12-fret. The 12 fret is so enjoyable to play and hear that I decided I didn't need the Rainsong. Alas, I'm missing the convenience of a guitar that I can leave out of its case or grab for a road trip. I'm considering another carbon fiber guitar. I'm tempted to get another Shorty but wonder if I might enjoy a Lucky 13 more. I'm a mediocre fingerstyle beginner who enjoys noodling around on the couch and practicing from Mark Hansen's finger style books. Any suggestions from AGF members will be appreciated.
Mark

Last edited by azrunner; 08-21-2015 at 10:11 AM.
Old 08-20-2015, 08:14 PM

Never seen a lucky 13 in person. Comparing CF guitars is hard unless you live in Ted's shop, there just are not enough out there for exposure.

Rainsongs are also hard to find. The nearest Shorty to you is probably mine.
Rainsong SFTA-FLE; WS3000; CH-PA
Taylor GA3-12, Guild F-212

https://markhorning.bandcamp.com/music
Old 08-21-2015, 06:30 AM

The L-13 is more of a bluesy tone. I find the RainSongs to be brighter, even the Shorty hybrid.
Old 08-21-2015, 07:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by StillStephen View Post
The L-13 is more of a bluesy tone. I find the RainSongs to be brighter, even the Shorty hybrid.
L13 original was blusey but the latest version starting 2014? with the side port is really a warmer small guitar sound. I have a Rainsong Jumbo and do find it brighter but the L13 has its charms. I think the biggest difference for me is I like the L13s neck a little better. And I love the Gibson look over the Shorty but that's me.
2001 Michael Keller Koa Baby