The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 11-01-2014, 09:23 PM

Default Affordable carbon fibre guitars

Just curious, I am a newbie, only own one guitar (GS Mini) and I have been looking at carbon fibre guitars, mainly because my other passion is flyfishing and I'd love to bring a guitar along for my fishing trips. Wooden guitars you can find for as low as a couple of hundred dollars. Is there such option for carbon fibre guitars? I wouldn't even think of bringing my only guitar along on any of these trips (sun, rain, rocks, etc.). Is there lower price carbon fibre guitars out there? I realize I would be sacrificing some sound quality, but I would be looking for an affordable carbon fibre beater for these trips. I could not bring myself to bringing a $ 1500 plus carbon fibre guitar on these trips.
Old 11-01-2014, 11:39 PM

I am not aware of any CF guitars in the price range of the GS Mini. The Composite Acoustics Cargo travel guitar is a great instrument but comes in new around $999 (for the "raw" version). If you could find them used, I assume you can get one for less, but still probably more than the GS Mini. (I am guessing here). The "raw" finish is rougher and designed for the rigors of the road.
The new Journey Carbon Fiber guitar is also expected to be around the $1,000 mark. These are the most affordable models I am aware of.
Hope this helps.
'66 Gibson J-200, '55 J50, JB Model 1; Martin M-36; Micheletti Osprey Rigid Rim; Collings OM2H, GR Bear OM C; Emerald X10 Slimline; Gretsch HOF Country Gent & G6120CMHOF; Gibson ES-165; CP Thornton Improv; Veillette Flyer 14 & Lyric; Anderson Crowdster++ ....
Old 11-02-2014, 01:45 AM