The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 11-12-2012, 09:14 PM

Default NGD: CA Cargo Raw

Hi everyone,

I just received my new Cargo today, and though I'm a forum newbie I thought I'd share the news here since posts here really inspired my purchase. This is my first carbon guitar, and my first acoustic since a Taylor 510 LTD which I owned a few years ago.

My first impressions are overwhelmingly positive. I live in Australia, so I was forced to buy sight-unseen, and I'm very relieved to find that I love the guitar's raw finish and the tone.

The finish feels really lovely. The top feels a lot like satin-finished wood to my ignorant fingers, and the back, sides and neck don't seem to easily get slippery or sticky.

The tone is brilliant. It's surprisingly mellow and full-bodied, but doesn't seem muddy to my ears. It's got a nice balanced tone when fingerpicked (which is the bulk of my playing). It's not very loud, unless you really dig in with your pick or fingertips, but it really sounds great when you do. I tend to have quite a light touch, but I can foresee this guitar changing that; its tone seems much more dynamic and responsive than my electric guitars played clean.

The guitar's neck-heavy balance threw me at first, but I've already adjusted. The scale length is great, requiring no real adjustment to my technique at all. The body is incredibly comfortable. It's not bulky or clumsy, the top edge doesn't bite into my arm, and the back is perfectly contoured (with a very subtle double bevel, which I wasn't expected). Of course, I'm used to playing a Parker Fly, so I may just have low standards for comfort.