The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-29-2010, 03:17 PM

Default How do I tame that booming low E?

New member here. After a 25+ year career as a bassist, I have returned to solo gigs with just me and my faithful Yamaha FG-375s acoustic.

She's a beautiful, resonant old girl that I've had for years. As a matter of convenience, I decided to install a Fishman Matrix Infinity pickup in her so I don't need to worry about close miking anymore. I play her through my SWR California Blonde and she sounds FANTASTIC from A to high E. But, that low E just comes out BOOMING. This is a problem, because, as a former bassist, I enjoy playing accompanying basslines on the E and A strings ala old Maybelle Carter. The volume from that Low E is hard to tame and can really overshadow the melody.

Now, the E seems to have perfect balance with the other strings when I play unplugged. Its only a problem when amplified. I've played with the onboard EQ of the Matrix Infinity and with the amp. That helps a bit, but has not satisfied me. I am currently playing DR Sunbeams, medium lights .11

Any thoughts from you veteran players on this one? Do I go with a higher gauge E string? Rub some grease on that E to deaden the string (believe it or not, we used to do that with new bass strings) Any help is appreciated.
Old 04-29-2010, 03:37 PM

You could try a piece of paper on top of the pickup and under the saddle, in the location of the "E" string.
Experiment around with something to deadn' it a lil.
Old 04-29-2010, 04:07 PM
Me

It sounds like you need the Baggs Para DI or the Boss AD3. I've owned both - both are great. I like the AD3 a little better for feedback control and chorus/reverb, and the Para DI for tone control.
Old 04-29-2010, 04:14 PM
Charter Member

Hi funky toe…