The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-11-2008, 10:17 AM

Default String spacing at bridge and fingerstyle

The string spacing of my Norman ST68, from the middle of the bass E string to the treble E string is 2 1/8", and the string spacing of my S&P folk is a little narrower, something like 2 3/32". The nut width of both is supposed to be 1.72", thought the S&P measures a little less.

I played a friend's 314ce and I think it's supposed to be 2 1/4". Whatever it is, it was noticebly roomier playing fingerstyle, and I played it more cleanly than I play my guitars.

I realize that some folks fingerpick dreads with 1 11/16" nut widths beautifully, and I suspect that the better one's technique, the less string spacing matters. However, I'm only a beginner at fingerstyle (and little more than that at guitar, having played for about a year).

Here's my question: Is there an optimal string spacing for fingerstyle? I realize that "optimal" is a general term, but I'm talking about for most players playing fingerstyle.

Thanks,
Bill
Old 09-11-2008, 10:23 AM
Charter Member

2.25" at the bridge is pretty typical. Common wisdom (and you know what that is worth) says fingerstyle players like a little wider nut, at least 1.75, to facilitate their style.

So, as my Uncle says, "You can get used to anything, you can get used to hanging if you hang long enough", you can adjust to just about any guitar if you have to. The question is, do you have and even want to adjust, or do you want a guitar that is "optimized" for your style?

It is extremely important to realize that there are at least several more factors than nut width and string spacing at the bridge that go into the playability equation.
LC
Old 09-11-2008, 10:28 AM