The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 05-14-2023, 07:57 AM
Charter Member

Default Newbie Q: PRS SE - McCarty 594 4 knobs vs DGT 3 knobs

As In my first post in this forum, I'm a total newbie to electrics, hence this basic question.

I've narrowed down my 1st electric to be likely either the PRS 594SE or the DGT SE.

The first has 4 knobs, the latter has 3 knobs.

Why? Does the 4 knobs 594 provide more functions?

I'm sure that this is laughably basic a question but as I noted, I'm a total newbie. I did go to my local GC yesterday but they did not have either in stock or I would have found out there.

Thanks.
Old 05-14-2023, 08:13 AM
Charter Member

On two-pickup humbucker guitars, many folks favor subtle blending of the two pickups to get various colors. When David Grissom worked with PRS to have his signature guitar made, they started with his McCarty Trem as a template (which has one volume, one tone). He wanted two volume controls, one for each pickup so he could do that. He decided he only needed one tone control. There are some other tweaks, the DGT neck shape is a tad narrower and a tad deeper than a McCarty wide-fat, and the DGT has bigger frets.

All things being equal, i like having a tone control for each pickup in addition to a volume. Sometimes (rarely) I need a darker tone for one pickup and a brighter for the other. But the DGT is a nice guitar and is deservedly popular.

Buy the one that speaks to you.
Old 05-14-2023, 08:17 AM

Things can sometimes get confusing, especially for a beginner - this should help:

Old 05-14-2023, 01:44 PM
Charter Member