The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 10-11-2019, 06:54 AM

Default Epiphone neck reset '85 PR500

Hello,

I am a luthier with experience with taking instruments apart. I curb shopped an Epiphone PR500 made in 85. It is in great shape with no loose bars, etc...

All indications are that it needs a neck reset. It has a tension rod that is accessed through the sound hole. I am assuming that the neck/body join is a simple tenon in order to assemble this type of neck/rod configuration.

I am planning on a typical steam setup to disassemble. Anybody with any experience, tips, observations or comments about this type of neck reset?

Thanks!
Old 10-12-2019, 10:39 AM

Default 1985 Asian made instrument?

Assume nothing! You could be looking at the one-two punch of AMJ & AMG.
Old 10-12-2019, 11:10 AM

AMJ - Asian Mystery Joint

AMG - Asian Mystery Glue
Old 10-12-2019, 11:16 AM

Reading your post I come to two conclusions.
1- English is not your first language, which is perfectly fine.
2- Your terminology suggests you have no previous experience working on guitars, especially a neck reset.

That is not a project I would choose to learn on.
If I am wrong please accept my most humble apology, but I would not want to encourage you into a project you are not able to execute.

Ed
Old 10-12-2019, 01:10 PM

AMJ and AMG leads to TMJ and PIA?.....

Do you have any examples of these surprises? There seems to be no join failure on this guitar, just mostly bridge soundboard belly rise and a little sinking at the fingerboard extension/soundboard. Sad to chuck the guitar, even though it came to me at the right price. I have been a luthier since the late '70's and have avoided much of any kind of work on inexpensive guitars. Era of hide glue work for me...

Any examples of AMJ of AMG from the collective experience, or is it too painful to recall?