The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Archtops

Old 08-11-2020, 11:17 AM

Default Looking for my first Hollowbody guitar

Honestly I don't want to deal with an older guitar, so in the current hollow body guitars in the $600 +/- area which one is worth buying? I already have a Semi-Hollow Epiphone 339Pro and I'm tired of trying to find the perfect acoustic, so I figured I'd give a arch top a go.... Current listings like Godin, Grestch, Etcc,
Old 08-11-2020, 02:12 PM

I'm no expert but I have a Godin Fifth Avenue Kingpin and a Gretsch 5422. I reeeeeelly like my Gretsch.

Debut album Time Will Tell now available on all the usual platforms
-- visit SeanLewisMusic
Old 08-11-2020, 03:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by slewis View Post
I'm no expert but I have a Godin Fifth Avenue Kingpin and a Gretsch 5422. I reeeeeelly like my Gretsch.

I'd like to have a Gretsch but it's pushing my money limit the Godin looks good tho
Old 08-11-2020, 03:13 PM

If you don’t mind slightly used, you can snag a PRS Hollowbody II for $650 at Dave’s. They go quick though.
Old 08-11-2020, 08:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CASD57 View Post
I'd like to have a Gretsch but it's pushing my money limit, the Godin looks good tho
If you're OK buying used you can have a Korean-made Gretsch Electromatic 5420/5422 (single/double-cutaway respectively) - avoid the newer Chinese versions - or Godin CW II in the $600-700 range. Although there's a bit of stylistic overlap they're very different animals at heart: the Godin is a classic early-50's dual-pickup/single-cutaway jazzer in the mold of the first-run P-90 ES-175 (FYI Tony Bennett's guitarist uses one), whereas the Gretsch has that unmistakable rockabilly/British Invasion twang and chime; FWIW I own examples of both and IME they're about as good as it gets in a low-midpriced. traditional-style hollowbody - you can't go wrong with either one...
Old 08-11-2020, 09:30 PM