The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 04-18-2018, 02:57 PM

Default Finally got a Strat

I've been playing guitar for nearly 40 years. I've never owned a Stratocater. I've come close to buying one a few times and had some "Stratish" models (Peavey T-27, Charvel Tele with nbeck/middle Jackson Strat pickups). But I couldn't pass this one up.

It's a Squier standard, made in China, Sunburst with tortoise guard and rosewood fingerboard. It was on Craigslist locally for less than $100. I expected it to need a lot of love or upgrades, but it was in better shape than I expected. The electronics sound clean, the intonation isn't bad and the pickups sound pretty good. No whammy bar or case, but that's an eay fix. In a blind test, I doubt I could tell the difference between this and your typical Mexican Strat.

And I freaking love playing it. The Strat is just fun to mess with and the tones are pretty legendary, even on the cheap end of the spectrum.
Old 04-18-2018, 04:19 PM

Congratulations!

Love my Stratocaster even if my Telecaster gets more attention from me these days.
Old 04-18-2018, 07:14 PM

Congrats on your Strat! I haven't put a whammy bar in my Strats for years. Will you buy one? Enjoy.
Old 04-18-2018, 07:41 PM

Congratulations on your new Strat!
Old 04-18-2018, 09:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dru Edwards View Post
Congrats on your Strat! I haven't put a whammy bar in my Strats for years.
Clapton is a Strat player, and I've never seen him use a whammy bar.
Maton EBG808
Alvarez AP66SB
Yamaha LL16R A.R.E.
Fishman Loudbox Mini

Electric:
1966 Fender Super Reverb
2016 Fender Champion 40
1969 Fender Thinline Tele
2015 Epiphone ES-339 Pro
2016 Fender MIA American Standard Strat
2019 Fender MIM Roadhouse Strat
Old 04-18-2018, 11:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuman View Post