The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 09-15-2019, 07:03 AM

Default Mandolin, Mandola or Mancello

One of my goals in playing guitar is that I also want to learn to play the mandolin. A luthier friend of mine who is building an Archtop guitar for me also builds beautiful mandolins / Mandolas.

He asked me what I was interested in playing, a mandolin, Mandola or mandcello. I have no experience with any of these and would like to know from any of you players out there if you have a preference and why. I will say that I love the way it sounds with the guitar in bluegrass music but even more so when it's played all alone or harmonizing with another mandolin / Mandola and one of the three has a slightly deeper, warmer tone to it. I'm not sure which.

Any thoughts before I give him the go ahead?
Old 09-15-2019, 08:58 AM
Charter Member

Mandola is tuned CGDA, and. Mandocello is one octave down. These will both be in the same tonal range as guitar. Mandolin is tuned GDAE, the same as the fiddle (violin). I’ve played all these instruments in various ensembles, and as lovely as mandola sounds, a lot of bluegrass tunes can be a challenge on this tuning. You really have to know your fretboard.

Your luthier friend might have some demo models around. Why not sit down and try out a few. I will say this, if you don’t care for the instrument after it’s built, a mandocello is a lot harder to sell than a mandolin.
Old 09-15-2019, 09:17 AM
Charter Member

I'm also an aspiring mandolin-family player and have a mandolin, mandola, and octave mandolin (haven't played a mandocello). As a longtime guitar player, the most accessible of these instruments is the octave mandolin. The neck/fret spacing isn't as small and the mandolin, which is a plus for this guitar player. And put a capo on the 5th fret and you're up to a mandola tuning.