The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 12-03-2010, 07:47 AM
Charter Member

Default Have Other Steel String Players Completely Switched To Nylon?

I learned to play on an old nylon string guitar I found in my grandma's attic when I was 11 years old. I played that until I convinced my parents I was serious about guitar and then moved on to an electric guitar with a loud amp.

Thankfully my electric phase didn't last too long and I wanted an acoustic guitar. I got a steel string in early high school and never looked back.

2 and a half decades of steel string playing have gone by and I've been making my living since 1999 as a touring, performing songwriter, all on a steel string guitar.

But...for the last 2 months or so, since getting what I think is a wonderful nylon string guitar, I have no interest in steel string at all! None, zip, zero!

Is this a phase? Are there support groups for this kind of thing?

This past summer I bought what was supposed to be a lifetime guitar. THE most beautiful sounding steel string I have ever played. It was the perfect guitar!

Now, every other day or so, I get it out, play a couple of chords, still marvel at how wonderful it sounds, then put it away and go back to my nylon. Every song I play, both unplugged and plugged in sounds and feels better on my nylon. (I think)

I told my wife this morning that I was even thinking of selling my steel string because I can't stand to have a guitar in the house that goes un-played and I can't see ever going back to steel!

I am on the road playing for the whole month of February and I'm only bringing my nylon string.

Is this kind of thing normal? Has anyone else gone through this?

Matt
Old 12-03-2010, 08:09 AM
Charter Member

Hey Matt,