The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 05-24-2020, 01:24 AM

Default New member and new sable owner

Hello everyone.

I recently purchased a McPherson Sable and I utilized this forum heavily while I contemplated and researched this purchase, so thank you all for the information. In return, I'll share a little background and some initial thoughts on the guitar.

I've been playing for 25 years (wait...that can't be right!), self taught with many many plateaus along the way. I've occasionally taken lessons but never for any extended period. I love a lot of different types of music, especially reggae and folk.

I've owned a number of acoustic and electric guitars over the years. The sable is the 10th guitar I've purchased. Here's an overview:

1. Martin DX1 (sold)
2. Ibanez AES20E (sold)
3. Taylor Big Baby (sold)
4. Epiphone G-400 (sold)
5. Music Man S.U.B Silo 3 (sold)
6. Taylor T5Z Classic (sold)
7. Custom HSH semi-hollow by Moniker Guitars, Austin TX (sold)
8. Washburn WCG25SCE (current)
9. 2012 Limited-edition Fender American Stratocaster, hand-stained (current)
10. McPherson Sable Honeycomb / Gold (new)

So, how did I come to purchase the fabled Sable? After years of experimentation and owning some different things, and with cases, cables, amps, pedals, etc spread all over my office, I thought it was perhaps time to consolidate. I've always enjoyed the simplicity and warmth of the acoustic guitar and I've always thought about owning a really nice one 'someday', an 800-series Taylor or even something from one of the boutique builders.

I eventually decided to go with carbon fiber, and that led me to offerings from Rainsong (V-DR1100N2), Emerald (X-20) or Mcpherson.