The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 04-15-2020, 05:25 PM
Charter Member

Default zoom (h4 vs h5 vs h6, etc.)

Hi, first of all, I am sorry if this topic has been discussed on numerous occasions.

I have played guitar for many years, but I am a recording newbie, and have only recently been reading about the zoom handheld recorders. I just need something relatively easy to use with both XLR and 1/4" inputs. Been trying to understand the differences between the H4, H5 & H6 models in particular. Can someone give me a high-level overview of each? I was leaning towards the H4 until I saw some comments that the H4 takes a long time to "boot up"? Not sure if the same applies to other models...

Thank you very much in advance.
Old 04-15-2020, 08:52 PM
Charter Member

I used an H6 for many years since they first came out, 4 or 5 I'd guess, but sold it a couple years ago. Haven't used the others, but they are similar from what I've gathered, though clearly they cut some corners to meet different price points.

What is it you intend to do with it? I see some folks get the idea it's a digital recording kind of workstation, but really, they are more like "field recorders" with a lot of folks using them as adjuncts to video recording.
Old 04-15-2020, 10:15 PM
Charter Member

Thanks for the reply. I am looking for something portable and relatively easy to use for recording ideas/tunes on guitar, or piano, or vocal. Hence, the desire for something with a stereo mic as well as xlr and 1/4" inputs. Secondarily, I would like to use it for decent recordings of live events. I don't anticipate doing a lot of layering/mixing, so I dont need a lot of inputs.

Perhaps, a zoom recorder is not even the direction I should go? Honestly, just not sure what all is out there.
Old 04-16-2020, 01:01 AM
Charter Member

I have an H5 and am very happy with it.