The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 03-03-2012, 10:15 AM

Default Repair Crack

i have this guitar with a crack should i repair by my self or should i take it to
music store? i dont have experience repairing guitar but i dont want to spend a lot of money for a guitar and its not going to last long time.
here are some pic
any advice of rate of how much would be to repair ir is welcome.
the guitar is a taylor big baby

Old 03-03-2012, 11:57 AM

I'm sure others can help more than I can, I just ordered some supplies ($15.00 total) from www.stewmac.com to do a small crack on a bridge. They have a nice selection of glues, tips etc. that might come in handy for your repair. For each glue they offer they have a guide to help match it up to the repair you are doing.
I did a lot of research...it's my first attempt at a repair like this. We shall see. I did have a pro look at it first and he helped guide me too.
Good luck

My question about glues is listed just below this one...at least it is now anyway.
Old 03-03-2012, 03:07 PM

It should be an inexpensive repair if you take it to a luthier, and they're more likely to do a clean job of it than somebody without experience.

If you want to see what's involved, frets.com is a great resource:
http://www.frets.com/fretspages/Luth...2topcrack.html

gits: good and plenty
chops: snickers
Old 03-04-2012, 07:08 AM

Thanks for the advice. If I can figure out how to send a pic I will post. The finish is so dark that I don't think I could show much but the damage.

I'm puzzled ... why is is suggested that might want to veneer the insides?
There is about a 1/4 x 3" piece missing from the back right at the lower bout curve. I think I can probably replace that with a trash piece of rosewood form some where. I could just sand the curve out but then I worry about the sides having to match.